A Big Thank You

Image

I would like to thank my fellow bloggers, Kink&Baggage, for nominating me for the very awesome Liebster Award! They have such a full of life, fun, and interesting blog I love looking through, that it really humbles me to be recognized by them. Since I was nominated for this award, here are some questions they asked me:

1. Why start a blog? 

Well, I guess it all goes back to how I really enjoy reading other blogs. Just the everyday humor, advice, and stories that are told always capture my interest. What really drove me to start my own, are those that just open up and put themselves out there. I find myself connecting and feeling less alone when I can relate to others. I know it’s not always an easy thing to just put down your guard and share on the internet your inner most thoughts and feelings, but I find that it does help (in my case) to read what others have to say. I enjoy writing, and have found starting my own blog and getting to hear from others very uplifting. Who would have thought the internet could be so kind?

2. When, where, and how often do you find inspiration to write?

If we’re talking writing my blog, it comes from a few different areas. When I’m feeling depressed or down, and sometimes just outright angry, I find jotting down how I feel (usually in my iPhone since it’s always with me) as a kind of therapy. It gets those feelings off my chest and actually makes me feel better because suddenly I’ve turned this pain into something creative. There I will transfer them onto my blog to share if I wish. Other posts just come from interesting thoughts that go through my head or maybe something I have done or witnessed I’d like to share. I also do a lot of creative stories outside of my blog I’d like to publish. The inspiration from those always come from stories daydreamed in my mind. What also really helps me is music. Whether I’m listening to it in the car or while I run, every song turns into a story or scenario that I turn into something bigger. This probably comes from my love of movies. The characters are always based off people I know (sometimes even for a brief moment.)

3. Favorite authors/actors/directors/comedians?

Hmm, authors. I don’t really have a favorite. I never really seek out a book just because of the author, although I’ve always been drawn to Edgar Allan Poe’s dark mind. Some of my favorite books off the top of my head are written by these authors: Emily Brontë, Margaret Mitchell, Jane Austen, Anne Rice, J.K. Rowling, Colleen McCullough, Lewis Carroll, Khaled Hosseini, and Bryce Courtenay. As far as actors go, Leonardo DiCaprio, Tom Hardy, Russell Crowe, Sean Connery, Angelina Jolie, Emily Blunt, Jennifer Lawrence are some I find inspiring. Directors would be Martin Scorcese, Quentin Tarantino, and Alfred Hitchcock. As for comedians, right off the top of my head would be the cast of The Office. I loved that show. I could watch those people over and over. Parks and Recreation follows the same format so I enjoy everyone on there as well.

4. If you were one of the Middle Sister Wine alter-egos, who would you be?

Well, according to the quiz on their website, I got Smarty Pants.

5. Dream job?

Oh gosh, I love performing different roles and ever since I was a child I wanted to be an actress so I would have to stick with that as a dream job. Or hit it big as a novelist so I could just write and live off of that.

6. Day job?

I work in acquisitions for an independent film distribution company. We scout film festivals and find amazing indie films to bring to audiences.

7. Perfect night in and perfect night out?

Night in would either be making drinks and something new for dinner and watching a movie with my boyfriend, or making drinks and playing some kind of ridiculous game with friends. Night out would be dressing up, hitting up some bars that are unique and with a fun atmosphere, or just drinking at a bonfire. Of course I’d put down that my perfect night in and night out would include alcohol.

8. Three things we can always find on your person (other than a cell phone and wallet).

One would be my silver heart ring my grandmother bought me when I was a teenager visiting the Grand Canyon. I lost it for many years and then found it again and since then I haven’t removed it. I also always carry around in my purse a God’s eye necklace she got from Turkey and always wore a long with a rosary this older Catholic woman I worked with in college gave me. Like my grandmother, she was funny, witty and taught me so many important things. We were good friends. You’re supposed to have two grandmothers and since I never knew one of mine, she felt like my second grandmother. I guess those could count as three because other than that just my body piercings (belly button and cartilage). To this day if I remove either one those holes will close up in less than an hour.

9. Everyone has an alter-ego. Introduce us to yours in three sentences or less.

My alter-ego I try to keep at bay. She can be manipulative, pessimistic, drama causing, vengeful, and always wanting to fight. However, I believe she can be a badass too so at least she has that going for her.

10. What’s the biggest risk you ever took, and did it pay off?

I guess that would have to be moving to California after college. I got a film degree, but you just can’t do much with that in Alabama so I enrolled in some screenwriting classes, packed my car and drove out here. I left my family, friends, job, and probably the guy I was headed to marry. It’s been three years and I could have very well run out of money and moved back by now. Still, I’m here. I’ve met so many wonderful people and done some amazing things, so I guess it did pay off.

Now, as the tradition goes, the next step is to nominate one or two bloggers as well. There were quite a few I wanted to nominate, but hopefully if I get another award (hint, hint) I will be able to include the others. I want to nominate One City at a Time and Imanhau as they both have posts that I enjoyed reading for different reasons and should definitely have their blogs checked out!

Here are your questions:

1. What made you want to start blogging?

2. Why did you choose your blog name?

3. Which one of your birthdays really sticks out in your mind, and why?

4. What is your favorite cartoon character? This could be from comic books, Disney, etc.

5. If you could have a special power granted to you, what would it be?

6. Who would be the one person you would probably have a total “freak out” moment if you met? 

7. What country would you most like to travel to?

8. What is your dream job?

9. What is one interesting or crazy thing most people don’t know about you?

10. What is one of your most prized possessions?

.

2 thoughts on “A Big Thank You

  1. We have the same dream job! But your day job is much more interesting than mine, lol! If I could live off of writing I would be so happy.

    • I know, wouldn’t that be great? Apparently all you have to do is write some kind of YA novel (or a bondage book) and you’re set for life. Of course I say that like it’s so simple. ;)

Leave a Reply

