Behold, a DIY that actually works — the Clementine Candle!

Image

I finally got around to making a clementine candle, and I was pleasantly surprised to see it work on my first try! I’ve seen these on the internet and always thought I’d try my hand at it. My coworker always shares his clementines (I think these were called cuties, not sure if that’s the same thing) with me at work, so I decided tonight while I was binging on The Borgias, I’d see if I could construct one. For those who haven’t seen this done, I’ll give you the quick steps:

First, you slice the skin in half completely around the fruit. (I only cut the skin, not the fruit, so I’m not sure if it makes a difference or not.) Once you’ve made your cut, gently peel the two oranges halves off but make sure and lightly tug out your the little white stem inside on one end. This will be your wick. If that breaks off, you’ll have to try on another orange.

ImageYou can barely see the wick on the left piece in the center, but it’s there and it was short but still worked. On the other piece without the wick, cut some kind of shape to let the light and smoke out. I chose to create this lovely lopsided star.

Image

Last, pour a puddle of olive oil over the wick. Let it soak for about a minute and make sure a little of the oiled wick is sticking out for you to light. It took me a couple of tries to get the wick to light, but once there was a tiny flame, I set the top on and it soon grew.

Image

I sat delighted and mesmerized by this brilliant orange glow that lit up the dark. The smell was sweet as well. I’m not sure how long it will last, but I’d say it was a good 20 minutes before I blew it out. And of course, I’m sure I don’t even have to say it, but don’t leave this pretty little guy unattended. ;)

2 thoughts on “Behold, a DIY that actually works — the Clementine Candle!

Leave a Reply

