Lazy Sundays

I’ve found myself loving Sundays more than ever because it seems like it’s the only day of the week where you can just relax and not do anything. No work (if you’re a Monday-Friday kind of person), no social events, just doing what you want to do, even if that means doing nothing. Well, not all my Sundays are so laid back, but recently I like to use them as a time to work on a writing project, watch my favorite TV shows that seem to always come on that night, and something else that just involves staying home. That something else today included one of my favorite things to do: cook food. And more importantly…eat it!

Below I grilled some salmon steaks and made this new recipe I found while reading through my cooking apps (am I the only one who can spend so much time just searching food online?) The pasta dish tasted amazing so I was thrilled to have found it.

photo (21)And then I made this butterscotch bread pudding- which doesn’t look too great, I know, but it’s bread pudding so I’m not sure how pretty it’s supposed to be. But it tasted delicious and that’s what counts, right?

photo (20)

 

Anyway, if anyone is looking for two super simple recipes that taste amazing, look no furthur:

Pasta Kale Toss

1 (8 oz) package uncooked bow tie pasta (you can use other kinds if you prefer)

1 medium yellow bell pepper, chopped

1 medium red bell pepper, chopped

4 cloves garlic, minced

1 pinch ground cayenne pepper

1 pinch dried basil

8 oz feta cheese, crumbled

1 tablespoon olive oil

2 cups roughly chopped kale

salt and pepper to taste

Bring a large pot of water to boil, add pasta and cook for 8-10 minutes then drain. Heat oil in a skillet over medium heat. Stir in peppers, kale, and garlic. Season with cayenne pepper, basil, salt and pepper. Cook until vegetables are tender. In a large bowl, toss cooked pasta with skillet mixture and then add feta cheese. And just like that you’re done!

*You may want to add more kale as it tends to shrink a bit. Also, I’m not a big fan of kale’s raw taste, but cooked it tasted great. As you may be able to tell I was lacking a yellow bell pepper, so I only made mine with red. I also added more cayenne pepper and basil. I don’t think I’ve ever followed the “just a pinch” of this and that when it comes to recipes.

Butterscotch Bread Pudding

1 loaf of day-old bread torn into small pieces

1/2 cup of butter, melted

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

4 cups milk

2 cups brown sugar

3 eggs, beaten

1 cup butterscotch chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Oil a 9×13 inch baking dish. In a large bowl combine the bread, milk, sugar, butter, eggs, vanilla, and butterscotch chips. Stir and let the moisture soak in. It should look similar to oatmeal. Pour into prepared pan. Bake in preheated over for 1 hour (I found mine needed an extra 20 minutes). It should jiggle slightly when you shake the pan back and forth. Serve it warm or cold.

*I don’t use butter, (I’ve always hated the taste and smell) so I substitute it in baking and cooking with olive oil in which case it would be 1/4 cup and 2 tablespoons olive oil. I also added cinnamon because, why not?

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Lazy Sundays

Leave a Reply

